European Council

Topic A: European Economic Integration

Topic B: Common Foreign and Security Process

Working Language: Chinese

Size: 56

Representation: Double Delegation

Rules of Procedure: Beijing Rules of Procedure (Paper-oriented)

Introduction to the Committee and the Topic:

In 1952, the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was established by France, Italy, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and West Germany, forming the prototype of the European Union. Ever since then, the economic integration of European countries has gradually come into being. The European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) were founded in 1957, with the signing of the Treaty of Rome. In 1965, the Treaty of Brussels brought out the newly established European Communities composed of the ECSC, the EURATOM and the EEC. And the process strengthened the progress of the European integration. Arrays of agreements were reached in the following decades, which have greatly enhanced the rights of the Community: in 1973, the United Kingdom joined the EEC; in 1987, the Single European Act became affected; in 1991, the newborn of the Maastricht Treaty denoted the establishment of the European Union and the integration of Europe formally transited from an economic entity to an entity of politics and economy. However, abrupt changes constantly presented themselves. In 2016, British cast ballots in the Brexit (Britain exiting from the EU) referendum. And the result led Britain to the secede from the EU. And yes, the integration met its biggest challenge. How can we proceed the progress of integration? Whether the integration of economy, diplomacy and defense is foreseeable? The reform of the European Union is both our duty and our future.